Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is This Right?
CubeCart Forums > General > General Discussion
sunshine
Okay Everyone,

i'm sorry theis is going to be a bit winded, but I just encountered this problem. First, in my defense, I am far from a bit*** but this guy really got to me. In short, I moved transferred my account to HZ about a month ago. I had before and still have now a dedicated IP address. Specifically for security and traffic reasons. Love their service-as in the speed, accessibility, features. Well, I had problem trying to accessing my account a few times and I was get this guy in the 24hr cs chat named Ivan. Ivan blows me off each time, like he's talking to a dodo bird anyways, I disregarded and took care of the problem via normal business hours CS. Fine since. Then I go and look at my stats for the 2nd day in a row and I see all these directories and such being access. I'm thinking - hacked - then I look closer and they are folders of my account that I did not create. So I type in my site and this folder extention. Low and behold there's 15-20 differant folders and website belonging to someone else. With a dedicated ip? Have they got personal info and CC card on my hosting account? So here's my tyrant conversation with Ivan to whom I ened up speaking with for this proble. He disconnected me without any answers the first two times, so by the time I got to what you see below, I was quite worked up. With a dedicated ip, you have the answer to yourself don't you? It's just the server that's shared. I called CS and left a message but of course it timed out before I could leave my phone # so I'll call back this morning. BTW at the end of the conv here. he just blew me off again. Evertime I walk to this guy, he goes around in a stupid circle.

lisa: Hi,
I need to speak with someone in technical support. This is important

You are now speaking with Ivan of Technical Support.

lisa: Hi Ivan,

lisa: I have a big proble here. Please check this url

lisa: http://www.modernblu.com/~gpalmer/

lisa: SOMEONE IS ON MY ACCOUNT

Your party has left this session.

lisa: HELLO

Ivan: Hello.

lisa: Is my message viewable to you

Ivan: Ok, I'm checking.

Ivan: Is www.modernblu.com your domain?

lisa: yes it is

Ivan: It's s simple way to access accounts http://<IP or domain.name>/~username/

Ivan: It's not on your account, it's server's account.

lisa: No it is not!

lisa: I will not accept that as an answer

lisa: I want this fixed and this will be reported to management not customer service

lisa: that answer is unacceptable. Someone is using my name

Ivan: or http://70.86.88.232/~sunshine/

lisa: HIS ACCOUTN IOS ACCESSED UNDER MY NAME - MODERNBLU

Ivan: Is there anything else I could help you with?

lisa: FIX IT

Ivan: I'm sorry, it's a problem, it can't be changed.

lisa: i PAY FOR A DEDICATED IP ADDRESS 70.86.88.232. HOW CAN HIS ACCOUNT BE ACCESSED UNDER MODERNBLU AND PLEASE DON'T DISREGARD ME

Ivan: it's not a problem, i meant*

lisa: IYOU DON'T GIVE ANY ANSWERS DO YOU?

lisa: IWHAT IS MY DEDICATED IP ADDRESS?

lisa: AND WHY CAN SOMEONE ACCESS HIS STUFF UNDER MY ACCOUNT?

lisa: WHAT IF IT WAS PORN?

lisa: HELLO?!?!??!
[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE]
sunshine
ADD ON: My last few posts there, were done intermittently along with a few more Hellos at the end.

As far as i'm concerned, it's a problem. I'm seeing stats that may/may not be mine, this person account can be access under my site name. What if it was porn??!?! And some in my shop went there by chance?!? Because it can be accessed under my registered web name. And in all of this, I pay for dedicated ip just so I could avoid the potential of this. Go figure..it's gotta be a full moon. Stuff happen's to me everyrime there's a full moon.
Spanjis
Great customer service wacko.gif report him!!!
You should move to another webhost, there are some recommendations on this forum.
fiddy
I'm no expert, but as I see it, you're paying for a dedicated IP address, not a dedicated server. You should expect other people to be sharing the server unless you're paying for one all to yourself (which, from what you say, you're not).

HOWEVER, this http://www.modernblu.com/~gpalmer/ shouldn't happen. modernblu.com should be pointing to a folder on that ip address, not the root of the server, which it appears to be.
sunshine
I agree and never expected, nor paid to have a server but I chose dedicated ip for reasons mentioned. They don't hold my domain name nor was it registered with them. Thankfully this person's not displaying anything far out. But I wonder if they can see any of my stuff on their side? Or personal information.
sunshine
Ok, it's been resolved. Spoke to the Supervisor and he was very nice. It seems this person had the IP address before. And was still feeding from it. biggrin.gif
evilhomer
hmmm would suggest a close eye on that one ermm.gif and maybe a guard homestar.gif to protect it happening again
jeromas
If you really want to be paranoid, I would suggest calling the credit card company for the card that you have on file with that webhost, and asking them to close it and re-issue a card with a different account number, and THEN change webhosts.
sunshine
Hi Evilhomer,

I put the padlocks on the folders. Currently the SSL is shared but I will also purchase my own. Yeah it would probably be a good ideat o get the Hacker as well.
Thankfully it fixed now and I was reassured by the Supervisor. If anything, maybe this post here will bring light that we all need to keep attention in that area. smile.gif


Hi Jeromas,
I usually check my cards so I would catch something pretty quickly.
Phantom_Menace
I would suggest that if you have access to the root, and you should.....its your domain, and you can actually see this other persons folders/files on there..........i'd delete em. Hes not supposed to be using it anyway.......right?
Shared hosting server does NOT mean shared dedicated ip.
Thats what I'd do.......delete them.
sunshine
Hi Phantom Menace,

I can only see their stats now which should should be gone by tomorrow. I'm an honest person and did no searching.
evilhomer
ph34r.gif prepared to go undercover and do some searching and deleting for you zorro.gif
sunshine
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Thanks EvilHomer laugh.gif
afksky
From what i am seeing here in your post. its a server problem. seems they are not locking the folders thant need to be locked and miss links. I dont feel that the person has your info BUT he can get your files. So if I was you move to a host that knows what they are doing and that will work with you more.. and REPORT that host...

Dont play there games there are 100's of hosting sites out there just move to a better one.. and dont forget you get what you pay for cheapper is not aways better.


And hey why not delete all the file in there that are not yours.. that will make that host look at the problem alittle more..


Later
Sky
sunshine
Hi Afksy,

I no longer see information pertaining to anyone else. My logs have been reset showing my stats at nil. I checked Whois and my cache was also cleared yesterday.

I would assume I'm back at square one with any search engines but just as well because I was showing a few index pages. Good thing this is a new site so it hasn't been picked up by all the engines yet. I can imagine if it was a seasoned site, ranks would probably have gone down the drain.
afksky
Thats good.. but still if i was you think about moving.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.