lamina
Nov 13 2007, 05:13 PM
Hi,
A quick question - does Google Checkout use spoof emails to create
spoof orders to checkout the integration of Google Checkout in the
store?
The reason I ask is that I received an order for an item which had
been 'paid' for using Google Checkout but never received a receipt.
The email address on the order is a non-existent hotmail account.
Shortly after this I received an email from Google Checkout informing
me of a slight deviation from their T&C which I corrected. The email
was from a person with a remarkably similar name to that on the spoof
order.
I have no problem with Google Checkout 'checking out' my website but
it would be courteous to use an obviously dummy order rather than a
false one - even one with GOOGLE TEST ORDER - DO NOT SHIP. The IP
address of the spoof user was 72.14.226.1 which is linked
to .....Google:
NetRange: 72.14.192.0 - 72.14.255.255
OrgName: Google Inc.
OrgID: GOGL
Address: 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
City: Mountain View
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 94043
Country: US
As far as I can see, placing an order which is attached to a non-existent person is attempted fraud, since had I not realised that I needed to wait for a reciept, I could have easily have shipped the item
Regards
Richard
vokf
Nov 13 2007, 06:19 PM
I would think that an email to Google would be in order for clarification.
Post back when you get a reply.
I don't think its too much to worry about (slightly annoying, but no harm done), it sounds like they tried to label the order, and its good practice to always check that the funds have been received before shipping anyway.
Jason
lamina
Nov 13 2007, 06:45 PM
Hi, the gist of a reply from Google:
Hello Richard,
Thank you for your email and your account updates. I understand you would like to know if Google Checkout places spoof orders to ensure proper Google Checkout integration.
To clarify, in order to ensure overall programme quality, we do review accounts and transactions on a regular basis, however, we will never actually place a test order.
But this did not happen - my reply to the above:
Dear Carly,
I have a big, big problem with this.
I received an order from a Claire Anderson from IP address 72.14.226.1. This is a Google address. In this order 'Claire' registered on my site with a non-existent hotmail address CAnderson@hotmail.com. The street address 'she' gave may or may not be real. There was no indication that this was from Google. So, Google placed an order on my site using a fraudulent name, email address and probably home address. I could have easily shipped these items and Google had no intention of paying.
This is attempted fraud.
I am not happy about this. However, I am entirely happy and in fact, glad that you check sites. But to do it in this incredibly poor manner is an affront to Googles good name.
I look forward to your reply.
I shall keep you informed.
Richard
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.