Thats site must make a fortune out of advertising.
Orionjoel
Mar 6 2005, 12:34 PM
Hmmm i wonder what they lose from advertising every hour they down like that.
They have 4,000 users on the site at a time... The amount of impressions those ads get is astonishing.
One sale for a hosting company brings $40 - $50 they must get quite a lot of those every day. Let alone those who pay to adertise on the site.
Orionjoel
Mar 6 2005, 12:58 PM
Hmmm quite interesting maybe i know what business i should be in
magicexpress
Mar 6 2005, 03:56 PM
LOL!! Sucks for them.
chris g
Mar 6 2005, 05:09 PM
lol...spykids. What a lame hacking name.
OskMedia
Mar 6 2005, 09:04 PM
i wonder what they actually hacked though my sql or what hmmmmm
OskMedia
Mar 7 2005, 03:53 AM
brooky how did they hack ur server that one time , i prolly think it was an injection but how did they do it , jw
Apache was running a nobody and I fooloshly left the forums config chmod to 777 file. To this day I am amazed how foolish that was. I religioulsy check things like that.
THat was they config file was easily rewritten dropping the database.
No I only give very limited access rights to mySql users.
akumanz
Mar 7 2005, 12:22 PM
OMFG ROFL. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
Mobie
Mar 7 2005, 02:22 PM
That brings me to another question brooky (or anybody else who knows):
To what do I set the files and folders in my store to not have this happen to me?
Not that I have or ever will have a high traffic site (more so locally I hope)
Just make sure admin/config.inc.php is set to 644 if you have a unix type system.
johnc2k
Mar 8 2005, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(OskMedia @ Mar 6 2005, 09:04 PM)
i wonder what they actually hacked though my sql or what hmmmmm
spykids have written a variant of the phpbb forum worm which exploits up to one of the very latest version of phpBB.
It will searach through the whole machine/server trying to overwrite web pages with that text.
Chances are hotscripts.com wasnt directly hacked buy one of the other hosted website on the same box was.
John - the security guy
OskMedia
Mar 8 2005, 11:13 PM
damn lol who are these poeple
afksky
Mar 9 2005, 08:11 AM
QUOTE
Chances are hotscripts.com wasnt directly hacked buy one of the other hosted website on the same box was.
Yes that is what seems to have happed on the site. you can read a news post the admin of hotscripts made about it. I think there is a link on there site to it..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.