Resolved - Image cache purpose?

kalyncomputers

Can somebody explain to me why Cubecart uses an image cache?

It seems silly to me that the images are uploaded to the images directory and then, as far as I can see, copied to the images cache directory when they are added to a product. It seems to me to be a great waste of disk space. Is there any way that this can be circumvented?

And while we are on the subject of images....I have been using OSC for the last 10 years and have recently started using Cubecard 5.2.2 for a client's store. I am in the process of populating the store and as a lot of products are similar, I am cloning them and then changing the bits that need to be changed. It would be very useful if the image path was shown when you are looking at a displayed image in the image tab section of a product. OSC displays the image path as part of the product description. Perhaps the guys at Devillion could take note for a future release?

Tim

"Why does Cubecart use an image cache?"

Let's start by noting that CubeCart allows for the opportunity (even if hardly ever offered) for customers to choose the skin they wish to use. This includes a mobile skin for those devices.

Therefore, as such, variants of the one main uploaded image with appropriate image dimensions must be made available to match the layout requirements for each skin used. Within each skin is the possibility of a cameo presentation (Featured, Sale, Latest Products boxes), thumbnail appearance (subcategory, inventory and gallery lists), and elsewhere (invoices, main category, and main gallery enlarged). Third-party skins may have additional sized layout requirements.

The argument could be made that, just let the browser re-size the one image according to the style properties.