Add a Handling fee? UPS and USPS

Guest Kathleen

Guest Kathleen

Hello,

I have been setting up CubeCart, and I have everything done on it except for the shipping part. I tried first offering UPS shipping, but the rates calculate much lower than the actual rates on the UPS site. Does anyone know what could be causing this? Is there something I should change? I have read other posts written by people with the same problems, but I couldn't find any solutions. Maybe I haven't searched enough?

Also, after I couldn't get UPS to work, I tried USPS. I tested and activated everything, and it is working well, but is there a way I can add a handling fee to the calculation? I use my own packaging and materials, so if I just used the original shipping quote, I would lose money on shipping. Is there anyone that can help? I am totally new at this, so any suggestions would be great!

Thanks a lot!

Kathleen

Guest global777

Perhaps if you did "Shipping by Weight," but this is difficult because if you use anything other than USPS Flat Rate Priority Mail, you have no way of knowing the different shipping rates to all the possible destinations.

I do know that one of the other popular carts has a little option for each shipping module with a box to include a handling fee for each shipping method. It's a really nice feature.

If they would simply FIX the UPS module, and add a simple little box to add a handling charge, this would be an AWESOME package.

Until then, it's just a "very good" package. Albeit a very good one I can't use because of those exact issues.

:sourcerer:

Edited by global777

• 3 weeks later...

Can someone explain how to do this for UPS? It would be a great help.

this has also been posted

find /modules/shipping/ups/calc.php

on line 73 find $sum = $quote and make it $sum = $quote+5; 5 meaning your adding 5 dollars to the total amount of shipping. You can replace the 5 with whatever number you want.

Guest Guest_Ronnie_*