Firefox > IE Differences (Minor)

Guest walmarc

Guest walmarc

Hi all

I've searched but can't find an answer - the nearest was a post by Convict about <p> tags which I've played with but don't understand.

I'm not that experienced with CubeCart and have absolutely no idea about css. I've put up a store and there is a minor difference between the view in Firefox (my preferred browser) and Internet Explorer.

I'm using an as yet minimally modified Classic skin and in IE the left side menus show double spacing of the text or menu items but in Firefox they appear as I think they should - single spacing.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Regards ;)

Guest estelle

I haven't checked out your site, but I know that p tags have different margin settings between browsers.

Try this:

p {

margin: 1em 0;

}

Guest walmarc

I haven't checked out your site, but I know that p tags have different margin settings between browsers.

Try this:

p {

margin: 1em 0;

}

Thank you estelle - but I have no idea what file I'd change or where to change it ;)

Sorry - in the early stages of learning! ;)

Your problem is not with a <p> tag, though, the problem is in the unordered lists boxes. Try this to fix it:

OPEN /skins/Classic/styleSheets/style.css

FIND this block of code:

li.bullet {

list-style-type: square;

font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;

font-size: 75%;

color: #000000;	

}

REPLACE it with this:

li.bullet {

list-style-type: square;

font-size: 75%;

line-height: 1.2em;

}

If it doesn't suit you, change the value 1.2 to 1.3 or 1.4 to add more space between lines. The line-height property with this syntax will set the line height at 1.2 times the size of the font.

Guest walmarc

Thank you so much markscarts - that fixed it - it's now exactly the same in both browsers.

Hmmm....now to get back to that on-line css course so I can learn these things.... :)