Meta tags!!!!!

Hi it's me again, asking questions about issues I'm having with my site and again forgive me I'm still learning... Here's my question already lol

Q: I have an idea of what Meta tags are and I know I don't have any and if I do they suck... where do I put them? I've run into problems with search engines writing me saying I need to add meta tags to my site but How and where?????!!!! I'm assuming that I need to open a file in my control panel and add them in a precise fashion or it will lead to very very bad things. AHHHHHH!!! How do I go about that? And when you add Meta tags to the file (I'm sure your giggling lol forgive my lack of lingo) do you add a description of your site and list what’s on it? whats the best way to go about doing it??? Can someone give me an example? Pleassssse help!!!!!

Maybe my question wasn't detailed enough? Sorry I'm not great with how to word computer realated questions

Can anyone tell me more about meta tags?

Can anyone tell me where to place them?

Maybe you need to see my site to answer my question? (If so please PM me)

Please let me know

Thanks

Elizabeth.

• 2 weeks later...

Here are my META tags. I will break them down in a moment.

<html>

<head>

<title>Spechal dot Com Web Site Development and Design for less from Kansas City.</title>

<META NAME="Keywords" CONTENT="Kansas City Web Development, Spechal Developments, Spechal, Travis Crowder, PHP Web Design, Web Development, Cheap Web Site, Kansas City Web Site Design, MySQL Database Design">

<META NAME="Description" CONTENT="Kansas City Web Design by Spechal Developments. Spechal Developments offers affordable website design while keeping development time low.">

<META NAME="Author" CONTENT="[email protected]">

<meta name="robots" content="index, follow">

</head>

Alrighty. META tags are ALWAYS placed the the < head > tags. Usually right after the opening < head > tag. Never in the body or after the head tags, always after the html and head tags.