Distributors & Payment Gateways

Guest Alex Parker

Guest Alex Parker

I'm new to Cube Cart, and in fact shopping carts in general. As a web developer I do a lot of work with various CMS's and custom PHP/SQL applications.

Recently I've been approached to add an upgrade to a client's website. It's all a bit of a mess at the moment, they've been waiting for 6 months and spent $15,000 on an online shopping site that has been developed more or less from scratch. At this point in time the system doesn't do everything they need it to do, and understandably the client is very frustrated and angry about the situation they are in.

I've analyzed their system and their needs, and it seems to me that the easier solution is to switch to a shopping cart program. Even at the advanced stage of their project, I believe starting everything from scratch using a well developed system such as CubeCart would result in a faster, better and cheaper solution. The time it would take me to develop their existing system to a point of completion would to my mind take much longer than actually doing it all again with a system that offers all these features out of the box.

Cube Cart appeals to me the most out of all the other systems for various reasons, however I do have some questions:

1. Can cube cart interface with the SecurePay payment gateway? If not, how hard is it for an experienced programmer to develop a module that will do this?