Add item description to index.inc.tpl

Hey all, thanks in advance for your help.. I have a small modification I want to make on the index.tpl and I cant seem to get it to work.

I want to pull the item description that you get on the viewProduct and add that on the index as well. I have taken the php statement {TXT_DESCRIPTION} and added this to the index however the rel path obviously is missing because nothing shows up. Has anyone else made this modification or similar? Thanks!

update:

I've located the MySQL query tables and found the description value in the viewProd.inc.php.

$latestProducts = $db->select("SELECT productId, image, price, description, name, sale_price FROM ".$glob['dbprefix']."CubeCart_inventory WHERE `showFeatured` = 1 ORDER BY productId DESC LIMIT ".

I added this to the index db query table values however since I'm not really a php developer I merely understand the code, I am unsure how to fulfill the next steps in getting the actual descriptions to display. I've only been working with this for 2 days and my dry erase board looks like a PS Madden Footbal playbook.

Here is the portion I believe I need however cannot restate.

/----------------------------------------------/Part1/------------------------------------------------/

the loop

if($prodArray == TRUE){

$val = "";

if(($val = prodAltLang($prodArray[0]['productId'])) == TRUE){

$prodArray[0]['name'] = $val['name'];

$prodArray[0]['description'] = $val['description'];

}

/----------------------------------------------/Part2/------------------------------------------------/

the statement

$view_prod->assign("LANG_PRODINFO",$lang['front']['viewProd']['product_info']);

or perhaps this is not it at all and it's not quite this complicated??? I am not sure.

UPDATE

I haven't any luck however I have modified the following:

if($config['showLatestProds']==1 && $latestProducts==TRUE){

for($i=0;$i<count($latestProducts);$i++){