There is more than one way to skin ...

Hornblower

I have had a bit of a look around this forum, but there are many posts so please accept my appologies if something like this has already been posted.

I am new to CubeCart so have come straight in on version 5.0.7 - because of this I have no baggage to bring with me, so you won't find any comments along the lines of "why did they do this, I liked it so much better before ..."

Like many of you I am frustrated by the lack of documentation (for "lack of" read "none") in the methods and ways of making this software present your products to the world in a manner that you find acceptable - or in other words re-skinning.

However, not being a novice in the ways of web development, I had a good look around and tried a few things and below is where I got to in the land of re-skinning I hope you who read this find it helpful.

I am assuming that you have an up a running version of CubeCart 5.0.7 and some sort of code editor and ftp client - I'm using Dreamweaver as that is what I am used to; if you don't have a decent IDE try Eclipse which was free and pretty awsome last time I used it.

Before altering anything see if you can get as close to what you want by just using the admin control panel. There are many options in here so spend some time playing around with these settings - although there is a fairly good wiki for this side of things (http://www.helpdocs.info/Main_Page) there is still a lot to take in.

Assuming that since you are still reading this, playing with the settings in the admin control panel wasn't enough so what next?

Decide which of the existing themes is nearest to what you want.

Find the folder for that theme in the "skins" folder on your local copy.

Copy the folder (and all its contents- I know that this is implied but sometimes it is worth just stating the obvious) and paste it back into the "skins" folder.