[Resolved] Add fields for a specific product - which database table?

Daamon

Hi,

My second post and I'm totally new to CubeCart... For a small set of specific products within my shop, I want to have a number of mandatory fields appear when any one of those products are ordered and on a "per product" basis, i.e. if more than any one of these products is purchased in a single transaction these fields appear for each product in the transaction.

I want the data captured in these fields to be recorded as part of the order details, not the customer.

My questions:

1) Which table(s) in the phpMyAdmin area would the new fields need to be added to? Any tips on some of the more unusual field options (e.g. I get "mandatory", but others?) when creating them...

2) I know I'll need some PHP coding to have the fields appear (getting that sorted) and I think it'd be best to have that occur in the "Basket" stage of the purchase. Which PHP file(s) would be the ones to change the code in?

3) It'd be great if I could have this mandatory data appear in the CubeCart Admin Control Panel -> Orders -> Overview tab - Order Summary. I'm guessing this would be PHP code changes too - again, which file(s)?

Many thanks in advance.

I am thinking the most likely approach is in admin:

1. Product Options: Option Groups tab, Add new group of a textbox type. Make it 'Required'.
2. Edit a product. On the Options tab, for Add new option, select the textbox just created. Fill in the rest (Negative, Price, etc) and click the green circle with the white plus in it to add it to the list of options. Click the Save and Reload button.
3. Make sure this new option is enabled in the product's list of options.

Make it plain in the product's description that the customer must only order a quantity of one so that unique entries in the textbox would apply to each individual item placed in the basket.