Dev Rant

zombiesbyte

As a developer I get annoyed at how the obvious issues are never addressed. I'd fix them myself but this isn't as simple as 'forking' haha.. let me explain (and vent)

HTML IMG tag

Yes, it's been with us for quite some time, provided us with the ability to decorate our websites and now even provides us with SVG embedding. but I feel like there's a great miss-understanding when it comes to the tag for how we have just left it in it's raw unchanged state and then demanded that it stays in this state for good programming practice. I am of course referring to the attributes of width and height.

Early HTML was all about, well the HTML but the focus of structure and style has been separated to HTML handling structure and CSS handling style (in general). With the width and height attributes being insisted puts me in a state of confusion as I write my width and height in my CSS. For responsive design to be at the heart of 99% of everything it seems, it is quite impossible to add a width and height as it would be unknown. So maybe it's the actual width and height of the image that needs specified which still doesn't explain the necessity of such attributes as the information is irrelevant to any browser since the style in CSS is applied as a dominant setting. Even if CSS hadn't addressed the image size the browser has the information at it's disposal even before the entire file has been downloaded and at worse case this is naturally extended from a small block area.