Customize fields on order

Muscator

I am new to cubebart and I struggle to remove a field on the order form.

In my country, we do not use 'state/county' in any way, so having this field set as 'required' per default is annoying.

I have tried to remove the filed by editing in the '/orders.index.php' and the '/orders.print.php' but it keeps being on the order form?

Trying to clear cache also din´t change anything....

How to get rid of it?

I also need to find out how a field is changed from 'required' to 'non-required' on the order form, eg. the field phone and mobile - in my country only few people have a landline based phone anymore, therefore it seems a bit weired to the customers that a landline filed is required to fill out - you might say that they can just put their mobile number in the landline field, yes - but still it is annoying that the field is required

Actually it would be nice if it was possible to edit the order form completely to make it comply to local settings - many carts has this option built in....

How to change that?

Any assistance is highly appreciated

I changed the wording to Best Phone number, and then at the bottom of the file commented out the line that requires validation for the other phone number. If you never need the other phone choice line you could comment it out.

I don't remember if Bsmither had to help with a code change in the JavaScript file or something similar to stop requiring the validation of the extra or hidden phone number.

Such edits will not survive an upgrade and would need to be added back in manually each time.

Thanks for the imput...

Yes, as You write any change will have to be revised every time there is an update and that is exactly why I suggest that there in future versions will be an option to edit any field at all concerning the order form as this is really a place for customization and that way it will remain the same even after an upgrade...