How to Add Fields to a CC3 Database

Guest disneyalumni

Guest disneyalumni

So far, CubeCart looks like a great, easy way to run my client's storefront, but I need to find out how to add some fields to the database. I found out in the CC2 forums how to do it there, but I would like to use CC3 and the procedure seems to be different.

The site will be a bookstore, so I need to add fields like AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName, ISBN, Number of Pages, Hardback or Paperback, and such. The client also wants to be able to have author biographies and be able to search for authors and find their books in the store. So I guess I need an authors table to do that?

I am new to php and mySQL, but am trying to learn what I can.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.

--disneyalumni

Easiest way if you don't know php and mysql is just to put all the data you want in the description field. As long as the author's name is there, someone could search on it. You can use html so you can format it in columns if you want, with bold for the heading, etc.

You can do an author biographies section thru documents or as external pages you link to from links in the description.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest rkdnsam

same problem/question here... :)

I also found jbdancer's awesome tutorial for adding fields in CC2.

and just before i started hacking away on my db and php files i read your last post disneyalumni... i owe you a big THANK YOU!

it wasnt until i read your post at the very bottom of that very long thread that i woke up and realized i was still browsing in the CubeCartâ„¢ Version 2 Forums!!!

WHEW! that could have been a bit ugly...

does anyone know how to do this in CC3.0.2? or is there already a link somewhere i have overlooked?

I haven't read the cc2 tutorial, real programmers don't eat quiche or read tutorials :blink:.