Thinking about starting a hosting business

Guest cubemods

Guest cubemods

Hi

I am thinking about starting a hosting business. I have lots of experience with cpanel and php / mysql etc and think I could provide a great service to my customers. On top of this, I am already online 16 hours a day, so I could answer support tickets quickly.

I am based in Australia, and am looking at setting up a server in Australia to offer Australian customers a server with fast speed / good realibilty and top support.

For those that have a hosting business, how are you finding it? Is it as cut throat as everyone says it is? Is there a competitive advantage to be made in establishing a niche market? Does it involve long hours, and is it hard to get customers?

I was thinking about giving free cubecart mods to customers who signed up from Cubecart. Would this be a good incentive to sign up for?

I look forward to dicussing this issue with you.

Thanks

Michael

I to thought of this anjd after some research decided against it, the market is over run with hosting companies and unfortunately some people just dont care about quality of service and just go for the cheap options.

This being said I am looking into a re-seller account for my clients that I know will go with me.

The way i see it if i get x amount of space and can get my clients to cover the total costs of that pack so i host my sites for free that will do for me.

Guest EverythingWeb

I will put a more substantial reply together later today for you, however some things which immediately jump out at me:

Having experience with *just* Cpanel & PHP/MySQL is far FAR off what you need to know in order to succesfully run a hosting business. Knowing how to update servers, secure servers, provide billing interfaces, taking payments etc etc etc are also required.