Newbie... Help!

Hi,

I'm a newbie to all this, and I wondered if some nice person could answer me what are probably some really simple questions... Firstly, I've got version 3.05, and have bought a licence for it.

Ok, I can't seem to change the home page message. when I try, an error message '/home/httpd/vhosts/racetin.co.uk/httpdocs/shophome/language/en/home.inc.php' for writing. Try changing the CHMOD value to 0777. Remember to set it back to 0644 afterwards! comes up, and I have no idea what it means!

2nd problem is that I can't seem to get shipping to add to the total when i run a test sale on the site. I've enabled both 'flat rate' and 'postage per item' and this doesn't seem to make any difference...

3rdly I'd really like to set up a secure server, but don't really know how to do this or what information is required to successfully do this.

I'm probably just being a dizzy blonde, but would really like some help!

Thanks

Pippa :rolleyes:

Guest jbdancer

'/home/httpd/vhosts/racetin.co.uk/httpdocs/shophome/language/en/home.inc.php' for writing. Try changing the CHMOD value to 0777. Remember to set it back to 0644 afterwards! comes up, and I have no idea what it means!

Open ftp account . go to language/en/ right click on home.inc.php properties chmod 777 in stead off 644

I've enabled both 'flat rate' and 'postage per item' and this doesn't seem to make any difference...

Take flat rate , for example 5.99$ , at the last stadium off the ordering proces , it gets added 2 the total.

Am making some progress; have sorted the shipping problem out! But the rest is still a mystery! I have to get these thumbnails sorted, and I don't even know where to start looking for the file everyone's talking about!

Thanks,

Pippa

Pippa an FTP program, like WSFTP which is free, can be used to access the files on your webserver. You can upload and download files to your website via an FTP progtram.

FTP stands for "File Transfer Protocol"