shopper password recovery

Guest glogo_o

Guest glogo_o

Dear Friends,

I was very pleased with the way cubecart set up. It was easy. That was important because I am new to db's etc.

So, now almost everything is done for the beta startup, but as I am testing I realized that the password reset is working, but CC is not sending the new password out to the customer. this would be very bad for business, if the customer cannot remember his password for ten minutes, tries a reset and then cannot log in after he remembers the old password because the server reset it but did not inform him of the new password...

Am I missing something here? I surfed around the admin backend for a while but cannot find any settings to change.

I had planned on getting a license as soon as the system is up and working. I really thought it was okay. Still would like to.

Can anyone help?

(Big Sigh!)

Thanks.

Gloria

http://satyachetana.com/cubec/index.php

Guest glogo_o

Have you done any test orders to see if the email system works? I have 3.0.15 and the password function works perfectly.

No, Thanks for asking, I have not done any test orders. I have not done so because my paypal account is live and I would have to pay and be reimbursed. I considered that a bit cumbersome.

But, if I log in as a customer with three different customer accounts and 'forget' my password and ask the system to mail me a new one, it should do so, should it not?

Where is there anything to configure to tell it to send the email to the customer and what does this have to do with the function of ordering? As far as my logic tells me, the two are separate issues, apples and oranges.

If I make an account and lose my password and resquest for a new one, why should I not receive an email, especially when on the screen it says one has been sent to that address????