A couple of beginner questions

Guest fionajean

Guest fionajean

Hello all,

I am new to CC and am not a programmer, I am trialling CC and am practicing modifying the classic template as a learning experience.

I have a couple of questions, any help would be greatly appreciated.

a. How can I have 2 rows of products in the latest product category?

b. can I have a different image size than the default thumbnail size and if so, how?

c. having never used a .tpl file before and not really knowing what they are, can I just add an image into a div using normal html, or do I need to use some other type of code? Im a bit vague on this.

Again, any help much appreciated

Regards

fionajean

Guest webicon

Hi Fiona,

Welcome to the forums,

a. How can I have 2 rows of products in the latest product category?

Login to Admin > General Settings > Under Styles and Misc You will see number of latest products to show and number of products per row... if you want 6 items then obviously type 6 products to show and 3 per row,

b. can I have a different image size than the default thumbnail size and if so, how?

Yes. Login to Admin > General Settings > Under GD Settings - Thumbnail Size (Note that this pixel size is for the Longest Side only - the software will auto resize all images in proportion).

Similarly the one directly underneath Max Image Size controls the largest size of the large product image...

c. having never used a .tpl file before and not really knowing what they are, can I just add an image into a div using normal html, or do I need to use some other type of code? Im a bit vague on this.

Well it really depends on where you want to add the image!

If it is in a place where an image already exists, chances are it can be edited from within the stylesheet (Found at: skins/{yourskin}/StyleSheets/)