How does everyone here handle shipping solutions?

Guest Afishcalledwanda

Guest Afishcalledwanda

Hey all, I'm really new to online selling outside of Ebay (ick) and I'm trying to figure out what method, and how i want to ship my stuff. So, here I post this topic to get some input on how all of you handle getting your sold products to your customers.

EVERYONE'S input is welcome no matter what country you ship FROM! It helps me with my decision! :yeahhh:

I want to use only the USPS as it has the best rates for me and international shipping is better with that.

I like UPS but it's gotten very expensive. I can always use that in a pinch if I need to and go directly with a package at my local UPS store.

I only offer a small variety of items that I hand make per order from my home, I have nothing large here in the way of my 'store'. Hopefully I can add more variety as i sell more!

I'm in the USA, The post office isn't close by and using their click n' ship is very expensive.

Do you use an online shipping service to purchase your postage? If so who do you use?

Do you take your packages directly to the post office and purchase directly there? Or do you use online postage payments and have your mailman pick them up at your door?

Do you use flat rate shipping?

Do you use per item and weight per item?

the USPS has suggested using a couple of outside sources that are 'approved by them' and i'm not sure what ones are any good either.

http://www.usps.com/onlinepostage/

Stamps.com looks ok, but for international packages, I'm not sure they'll do! Their website STINKS in regard to information. I don't know exactly what is included in that $18/month fee for service! they are pretty vague. I don't care about their free trial package either. I just want the right solution, the freebies can come later.

Now the Encicia looks pretty good. I like the fact they will print out the customs form for you on international shipments! Saves me a ton of figuring out customs.