Testing UK VAT processing...

Hello All!

I'm new to the support forums, but have been using CubeCart (v4) live for a year, and have now hit the dreaded VAT threshold... so, it was with some dispondency that I read this - - VAT writeup... :(

Un-detered though, I started testing my own store, and to me it doesn't look that bad? or am I missing something?

I started by setting all my products to being "Prices include tax" and setting the (current) rate of VAT to 17.5% -

pricesincludetax.jpg

And then set up all the tax rates for the whole of the EC countries and the UK -

taxrates.jpg

Then, I closed the store temporarily and set the tax settings to charge sales tax to customers who qualify and to do it by delivery address -

taxsettings.jpg

Then I did some test transactions -

1. UK Customer

So, this is what I get at the checkout -

ukcustomer.jpg

So, as expected, the price of the product is shown as the retail price of £80 - which it is in the product listings, as I don't want VAT added on at the checkout, that would appear very unproffesional!

The subtotal is shown at £82.98 which is the price of the two products not including the VAT, the shipping is shown at £5.41 which is a standard parcel at £4.41 plus my standard one pound packaging charge, so the postage price is also shown not including the VAT, and then VAT is shown at £15.47 which is VAT on the two products plus VAT on the postage... which being as I am selling all VATable products I have to charge VAT on the shipping charge too...

Sooo, that all looks fine to me? most of my customers are UK based, source - http://www.bits4vits.co.uk/store/index.php?_a=viewDoc&docId=25

So, next a -

2. EC Customer

So, this is what I get at the checkout -

frenchcustomer.jpg

As I set the delivery address to be FRANCE, as an example...

So, the same set of results as the UK customer above, only the shipping charges has gone up, so, so has the VAT and also the Basket Total