All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

1. Today
  2. Shipping quotes before cart commitment

Heavens to betsy... This will need some intervention. We definitely should not give an estimate until we know where the parcel is going. With my aforementioned Alice Springs example, the postage quote goes up by 3x when the postcode goes in. There are a bunch of potential customers who will find that very angryfying. That "Estimated" link is pretty subtle. I'm not a novice at this and I didn't guess it. It's an online store, not a gameified learning experience. On the other hand, once found it is very nice. Bouquets to the implementer, and a marshmallow brickbat to the interface designer. The interim solution has to be: initial state a snippet that checks if the "estimated" postcode is set, and if not, it hides the "select your shipping method" box. (minor coding change) change the link text from "Estimated" to "Get a shipping quote" (Text change) move the quote link to the location of the invisible "Select your shipping method" box. (Template change) User enters country and postcode (I presume the region is here because in some jurisdictions it determines the tax.) The shipping method dialog elements appear as now, but with an option to "Change your quote" below the list box. (Coding change to switch the text - template probably does not change,) Does that make sense? R
  3. Shipping quotes before cart commitment